Breakfast is Here

About three years ago, I had a vision.

Everyone told me I was crazy, that it would never happen, that it sounded “totally disgusting.” What was this vision, you ask?

A Taco Bell breakfast burrito.

My plan was to work for Taco Bell, move up through the company, and eventually convince them to start serving breakfast. Luckily, someone did all the work for me. A few months after I developed this fool-proof plan, Taco Bell announced that they would begin serving breakfast in certain locations.

I crossed my fingers that Tennessee would be one of the test markets, but to no avail. The closest breakfast Taco Bell was about 500 miles away. I considered making the drive, but instead I gave up on the whole dream. My attempt at working at Taco Bell failed (that probably deserves an entire blog post), and I continued life without a thought of breakfast burritos.

But then…. about two months ago, they announced a national launch. And not only would they create my beloved breakfast burrito, they would take the menu to a whole new level.

Waffle Taco? Morning Crunchwrap? Mind = Blown.

How did they do?

Let’s start with the eggs. Can you really trust eggs from Taco Bell?

I have huge trust issues with eggs. It started when I tried my first Egg McMuffin…

egg

Seriously, what even is that? Eggs shouldn’t be shaped like patties! Or should they? I didn’t know, I was 7.

All I knew was that I spent the next 13 years hating eggs. Slowly I began incorporating them into my diet, and eventually I felt bold enough to order an egg sandwich from Sonic. It was a terrible mistake, but let’s not get into that.

Taco Bell’s eggs are: amazing! wonderful! perfect, delicious, 100% trustworthy, maybe the best eggs I’ve ever had. Forreal.

Now that we know the eggs are safe, let’s take a look at how they vibe with the other ingredients. I’m going to rank the menu items from worst to best.

The Worst: a tie between

sausage flatbread

Sausage Flatbread.

amtaco

AM Taco.

The Sausage Flatbread was a sausage patty, topped with cheese, surrounded by something that was maybe attempting to be a pancake but really tasted more like pita bread.

Before you get this, ask yourself “Do I want a sausage patty in a disproportionately large pita?”

If the answer is yes, then I kind of judge you, but also I have no room to judge considering I got up at 6:30 to blog about Taco Bell’s breakfast menu.

The AM Taco was alright I guess, but if you look at the above photo, you’ll notice the uneven spread of bacon vs. eggs. This is a common problem with TB food, so I’ll let it slide a little, but also the bacon is kind of weird.

Look, I love dollar menus as much as the next person. They’re perfect for when you’re either

A.super broke
B. indecisive
C. not quite sure how hungry you are
D. experimenting

But when it comes to breakfast at TB, I’m going to go ahead and strongly advise you to steer clear of the dollar options (minus the cinnabon delights).

The Best:

crunchwrap

AM Crunchwrap.

Have you ever had a regular Crunchwrap?

Have you ever eaten it and thought “This would be better with eggs, hash browns, and sausage?”

OF COURSE NOT. But I’m glad that someone else did.

The morning Crunchwrap lived up to every one of my expectations, and that’s saying quite a bit. All the ingredients mesh well together and are nicely contained in the beloved wrap. My only complaint is that it’s really not very crunchy, so they might want to tweak the name a bit.

waffletaco

The Waffle Taco.

When I first saw the ad for this, I really didn’t know what to think.

It looked a little terrifying, but also like I really, really wanted to eat it.

Turns out, on a scale of delicious to horrifying, this falls somewhere in the middle. I’m horrified by how ridiculously delicious it is.

The waffle is just sweet enough to let you know it’s a waffle, but not too sweet as to confuse the sausage and eggs. I’d recommend adding syrup on top, but only because I’m very partial to the whole sweet and savory idea.

And last, my favorite….

salsa del Sol

The Breakfast Burrito.

What’s so special about eggs, cheese, and sausage rolled up in a tortilla?

First of all, you already know the wonders of the eggs. Second of all, this is proven combination for success. Third of all, there’s a surprise ingredient. A surprise? What could possibly be added to make this any better?

It took me a minute to figure it out. It was something I had tasted before, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it.

Then it hit me. Quesadilla sauce!

Yes, the wonderful sauce they put in quesadillas has found a new home, and it’s fitting in perfectly.

Overall experience?

Basically, it was everything I hoped it would be, and more. I only have 2 complaints.

1. The workers really had no idea what they were doing. I had to repeat my order about 5 times, and it turned out wrong. This problem will probably be fixed within the next few days, though, so it’s not a big deal.

2. Putting salsa in a package that says “Salsa de Sol” does NOT count as morning sauce. Hopefully they’ll add a few sauces to really bring everything together.

So yeah, next time you think about going anywhere for breakfast, put Taco Bell at the top of your list. It’s worth it, I swear.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Breakfast is Here

  1. I happen to live in one of the privileged test markets so we’ve had taco bell breakfast for ages… the workers have still not figured out how to evenly distribute the components of a burrito.

Leave a Reply

